Go Back   LOTROcommunity Forum > Game Discussion > Crafting

Crafting Use this forum to discuss everything related to crafting! Post guides, ask questions, seek help!

Thread Closed
Old 18-06-2010, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Crafting - should I?

Hello there,

I'm very new to LOTRO, in that I've only been playing a couple of weeks, except for a month back in 09. I'm levelling a guardian and enjoying it but I'm wondering about vocations.

I'd like to take cooking and farming (yeoman) as, genuinely, I enjoy these kind of things as an offset to hitting orcs. But I'd like a broader view - would I serve myself better in the long run with something like Armoursmith? Or is it more realistic to say that gear comes from drops, crafted isn't so important?

I should like to also say that, yes, I do play Warcraft and in that game, buff food is quite an important item to have. I wonder how much that applies here?

Many thanks.

Old 18-06-2010, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

On lower levels the crafted gear is better than drops.
But food stays important.

But one could always switch later on in the game (e.g. start out as armourer and when the drop-gears are better switch over to yeoman)

Best of all: create 7 characters to cover all proffesions. But that means that you have to figure out which to level and which not (so high) (e.g. yeoman).
Or do as I do: level all.

Old 18-06-2010, 10:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Font of Wisdom, 2011

You could start with a tinker. You would have a cook and jeweller, which both offer nice income. They create a new toon to be a farmer as you can reach supreme master farmer without levelling the toon, and this would help your cook

Old 19-06-2010, 05:17 AM   #4 (permalink)